Find us on Google+

Public viewing suggestions for Friday’s Atlas 5 rocket launch

Playalinda Beach is an ideal public viewing spot for Friday morning’s Atlas 5 rocket launch of the Navy’s MUOS 5 communications satellite. The location puts you less than five miles from the launch pad to feel the 2.5 million pounds of liftoff thrust!

Get directions here

Launch is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. EDT (1430 GMT). There is a 44-minute launch opportunity running until 11:14 a.m. EDT (1514 GMT) to ensure the spacecraft is placed into the desired orbit.

Weather forecasters predict an 80 percent chance of favorable conditions, with summertime thunderstorms not firing up until after the launch window closes.

Photo from Playalinda Beach of Atlas launching MUOS 2. Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now
Photo from Playalinda Beach of Atlas launching MUOS 2. Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now
Photo from Playalinda Beach of Atlas launching MUOS 2. Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now
Photo from Playalinda Beach of Atlas launching MUOS 2. Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now

See earlier MUOS 5 coverage.

Our Atlas archive.

Source: You’ll find lots of information about the planets Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Also we have facts about the space station, ISS, SpaceX launch, space program, and outerspace. Space Flight

by
Public viewing suggestions for Friday’s Atlas 5 rocket launch

Posted in Space Flight and tagged by with no comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *